March 21, 2019
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs is a serious offense in New York State, and many Rochester residents receive these charges each year. Many DWI offenders are teens with no criminal record, which can make the consequences feel dire. If your teen received a DWI in Rochester, help is available. Here’s what you need to know about DWIs in Rochester.
Know the Potential Penalties
Under New York law, a driver is under the influence if they are driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
If this is the first time your child received a DWI, you need to know the potential penalties he or she may face. Your child will likely receive a license suspension of one year if he or she is under the age of 21. In addition, he or she may have to receive an ignition interlock device and complete an Impaired Driver Program.
Criminal charges for a first offense DWI in New York do not require jail time. However, your child may face up to one year in prison depending on the circumstances of the case. In addition, he or she may have to pay a fine ranging between $500 to $2,500, depending on their BAC at the time of the incident.
Hire an Attorney
Handling the DWI process without a criminal defense attorney on your side can be a challenge. You need an attorney who knows the system and how to navigate for a better outcome for your child on your behalf. Your attorney can launch a thorough investigation into the facts of your case, helping your child argue for a reduced conviction or dropped charges.
Dealing with a DWI charge in Rochester can be difficult, but having the right lawyer on your side can make a difference. Has your teen received a DWI charge? Contact Ganguly Brothers, PLLC today to schedule your free consultation at our Rochester offices.